Skip to main content

Commissioners (BFR)

Co-Chairman State Representative William-Will-Davis

Since taking office in 2003, State Representative William “Will” Davis has been dedicated to serving the needs of 30th District residents. His top legislative priorities include education funding, increased health care availability and economic development.

In the 102nd General Assembly, Davis serves as the Chair of the Elementary and Secondary Education Appropriations committee and Vice Chair of the Executive committee. In addition, he is a member on the Public Safety Appropriations, Energy & Environment, Labor & Commerce, International Trade & Commerce committees, and the Minority Impact Analysis subcommittee.

Will Davis was born on July 2, 1968 in Harvey, Illinois. Davis holds a Master of Public Administration Degree from Governors State University. He earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Political Science from Southern Illinois University in Carbondale in 1989. He is a member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated. He is a founding member of the Better Funding for Better Schools Coalition. Davis also serves on the Foundation Board of South Suburban College.

Prior to his legislative service, Davis served as an Admissions Counselor at Southern Illinois University-Carbondale from 1990 to 1996. From 1997 to 2003, he was the Deputy District Administrator for Congressman Jesse L. Jackson, Jr. Davis is a dedicated member of New Mount Olive Baptist Church in Harvey.

Senator Meg Loughran Cappel 

State Senator Meg Loughran Cappel represents Illinois’ 49th Senate District, which encompasses communities in Will County. Loughran Cappel joined the Illinois Senate in December 2020.

Prior to serving in the Illinois Senate, Loughran Cappel was a special education teacher and continues to dedicate her work to being a voice for children. She was a union representative for her school’s teacher’s union – AFT-IFT Local 604 and served on the Joliet High School Board. Senator Loughran Cappel serves as chair of the Senate Appropriations Education Committee and is a member of the Senate Agriculture, Education, Labor and State Government Committees.

Loughran Cappel and her husband own a small business located in Shorewood where they reside. Together they have three children.

Curt Clemons-Mosby

Curt Clemons-Mosby coordinates the implementation of the Budgeting for Results process which signed into law under Public Act 96-958.   Through the Budgeting for Results Unit at the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget (GOMB), Curt directs statewide program performance analysis and cost-benefit processes to provide improved data and analysis to support the Illinois budget process. He designed and implemented the Illinois Performance Reporting System (IPRS), the State’s flagship program performance data collection system. Curt is a Commissioner and Staff Director for the Budgeting for Results Commission and serves as Staff Director for the Illinois Youth Budget Commission. Curt is a board member on both the Illinois Secure Choice Retirement Savings Board, and the Illinois Competitiveness Council.  

Curt has a master’s in political science and a graduate certificate in Homeland Security and Emergency Planning from the University of Illinois Springfield.  With twelve years at GOMB and previous experience with the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the Illinois House of Representatives, Curt has a strong professional background in program performance evaluation and public policy

Jesse Ealm

Jesse Elam is deputy executive director for Research, Analysis, and Programming at the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP), where he has worked since 2005. He oversees transportation programming, including approximately $160 million per year in grants under the Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement Program, Transportation Alternatives Program, and the new Surface Transportation Program Shared Fund, which he played a leading role in creating. He also manages travel demand modeling and policy development at the agency. He has been heavily involved in promoting congestion pricing and in helping develop the ON TO 2050 plan. Previously at CMAP and its predecessor the Northeastern Illinois Planning Commission (NIPC), he was responsible for several areas of environmental planning, including water supply and water quality planning. Occasionally he serves as adjunct faculty in environmental planning and policy. Prior to NIPC, Jesse worked in biological research and then environmental education. Jesse has a master's degree in urban planning from the University of Illinois at Chicago and bachelor's degrees in biology and in philosophy from Millsaps College.

Pat Nolan

Pat Nolan serves as Chief of Staff with the Illinois Department of Central Management Services (CMS) which provides State agencies, boards, and commissions with services including but not limited to employee benefits administration, fleet vehicles, real estate, human resources management, administrative hearings, strategic procurement, media and communications, and internal audit support. Prior to joining the State, Pat spent seven years in higher education data analytics. Before that, he spent five years in community organizing in Chicago and Belize. He holds an MBA from the University of Chicago, an MPP from Georgetown University, and a Bachelor’s in Philosophy from Loyola University Chicago.

Brittany Maruna

Budget Officer, The Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity

Brittany Maruna serves as the Budget Officer at the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO). Brittany is responsible for preparing, implementing and managing the department’s annual operating and capital budget, totaling over $9.6 billion in FY2023. Prior to joining DCEO, Brittany worked as a Senior Budget Analyst at the Illinois Governor’s Office of Management and Budget (GOMB). During her time at GOMB, Brittany was responsible for analyzing and managing budget information for several agencies including DCEO and the Illinois Department of Transportation, as well as assisting with the development of the $41.5 billion Rebuild Illinois Capital Plan. Brittany has a master’s degree in Business Administration and a graduate certificate in IT Project Management from the University of Illinois at Springfield. Brittany currently resides in Springfield with her husband, son and two dogs. 

Pete Duncan

County Clerk and Recorder of Macoupin County

Pete Duncan is Macoupin County’s 27th County Clerk and Recorder.  He was elected in 2010 at the age of 24, making him the youngest county elected official in Macoupin history and one of the youngest county officials in the history of Illinois.  As Clerk, he serves as the County’s financial officer, administers all elections in the county, extends property tax rates for all county districts, serves as recorder of deeds, is the official keeper of the county’s vital records, and is the clerk of the County Board.

Upon his election, he championed open and accountable government through online access to budgetary and financial information.  His efforts led to Macoupin ranking in the top ten counties of the Illinois Policy Institute’s Online Transparency Audit.  He has also taken an office that was still using the same filing and storage systems dating back to 1829 and automated nearly all facets of the office.  These efforts have shown concrete results by reducing costs, providing more efficient service, and increasing taxpayer satisfaction with the office.