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To the Honorable JB Pritzker
Governor of lllinois

Governor Pritzker:

The Governor’s Office of Management and Budget (GOMB) in collaboration with the Illinois Department of
Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR), in compliance with the requirements set forth in the lllinois
Regulatory Sunset Act (5 ILCS 80), has conducted a review of the Elevator Safety and Regulation Act (225 ILCS 312),
which is scheduled to sunset on January 1, 2023. The following recommendation is pursuant to this review:

The Elevator Safety and Regulation Act (225 ILCS 312) should be continued, as it promotes and enhances the
health, safety and welfare of the public, without undue burden on licensees and commerce.

The examination of this Act considered the nine factors set out in Section 6 of the Illinois Regulatory Sunset Act.
The following report details the criteria and data utilized to come to the above recommendation.

Very sincerely and respectfully,
Alexis Sturm

Director
Governor’s Office of Management and Budget




Criteria (1) “The extent to which the agency or program has permitted qualified applicants to serve the public.”

As of September 2021, there are 74 licensed elevator contractors, 1,229 licensed elevator mechanics, and 150
licensed elevator inspectors in lllinois. Below is the data for currently licensed companies and individuals.

License Type 2017 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021
Elevator Contractor License 62 65 69 71 74
Elevator Mechanic License 910 944 1,022 | 1,140 | 1,229
Elevator Apprentice 1,111 | 1,245 | 1,413 | 1,483 | 1,535
Elevator Inspection Company License 27 31 31 31 33
Elevator Inspector License 108 119 130 143 150
Total 2,218 | 2,404 | 2,665 | 2,868 | 3,021

The current licensure fee structure is as follows:

Application/ Renewal of License Fee Amount
Companies
Elevator Contractor License (initial and renewal) $1000
Limited Elevator Contractor License (initial and $500
renewal)
Elevator Inspection Company License (initial and $500
renewal)
Individuals
Elevator Mechanic License (initial and renewal) $250
Limited Elevator Mechanic License (initial and $150
renewal)
Elevator Inspector License (initial and renewal) $450
Elevator Industry Apprentice or Helper Registration $75

An elevator mechanic must complete, along with many hours of valid work experience, an elevator mechanic’s
exam. The online exam, which is a selection of test questions from a national exam developed by the National
Association of Elevator Contractors (NAEC), can be scheduled by the candidate and taken any time subject to the
availability of the testing location. The cost is $100, which is the fee charged by the testing company (225 ILCS
312/45(c)).

An elevator inspector must complete, along with many hours of valid work experience, a qualified elevator
inspector exam (QEI) to become a certified qualified elevator inspector. An exam can be scheduled through either
NAESA or Qualified Elevator Inspector Training Fund (QEITF), both of which are national organizations. The exam
costs approximately $500 through either organization. Each elevator inspector must maintain qualifications
through annual continuing education and recertification/renewal at a cost of approximately $100-5400 (225 ILCS
312/50(b)).

There are 35 states that have the same requirements as lllinois and many states use Illinois as a reference.
The International Union of Elevator Constructors (IUEC) and National Association of Elevator Contractors (NAEC)

are organizations that have apprenticeship programs available in lllinois. Both are nationwide programs recognized
by the U.S. Department of Labor and can be accessed at least in part online.




Criteria (2) “The extent to which the trade, business, profession, occupation, or industry being regulated is being
administered in a nondiscriminatory manner both in terms of employment and rendering of services.”

This information is not a consideration for licensure and is neither gathered nor tracked. Licensing decisions are
based on an applicant’s ability to meet the requirements established by statute and administrative rules. No
complaints of discrimination have been received.

Criteria (3) “The extent to which the regulatory agency or program has operated in the public interest, and the
extent to which its operation has been impeded or enhanced by existing statutes, procedures, and practices of
any other department of state government, and any other circumstances, including budgetary resources, and
personnel matters.”

No information to report.

Criteria (4) “The extent to which the agency running the program has recommended statutory changes to the
General Assembly that would benefit the public as opposed to the persons it regulates.”

No legislative initiatives have been put forward for this statute over the past five years. Illinois Elevator Safety
Rules (41 IAC 1000) were updated in 2021 to ensure the updated American Society of Mechanical Engineers
(ASME) codes were adopted by the State.

Criteria (5) “The extent to which the agency or program has required the persons it regulates to report to it
concerning the impact of rules and decisions of the agency or the impact of the program on the public regarding
improved service, economy of service, and availability of service.”

The Office of the lllinois State Fire Marshall (OSFM) adopts administrative rules through the process established by
the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR). This process allows for input from licensees impacted by the
Office’s proposed changes as well as participation by members of the public. Public comment is a part each of
Elevator Safety Review Board meeting and informational letters on updated codes are sent out to all contractors.

Criteria (6) “The extent to which persons regulated by the agency or under the program have been required to
assess the problems in their industry that affect the public.”

Incidents resulting in injury must be reported to the agency by the property owner, lessee, or other party
responsible for the location within two business days. The form is available at the website:
https://www2.illinois.gov/sites/sfm/SFMDocuments/Documents/IncidentReportingForm.pdf

Any person may make a complaint to the agency for review and investigation. There is a form available at the
website:
https://www?2.illinois.gov/sites/sfm/SFMDocuments/Documents/ComplaintFormForWeb11-6-08.pdf

Criteria (7) “The extent to which the agency or program has encouraged participation by the public in making its
rules and decisions as opposed to participation solely by the persons it regulates and the extent to which such
rules and decisions are consistent with statutory authority.”

The agency posts current notifications on its web page that are accessible to the public. Public comment is a part
each of Elevator Safety Review Board’s meetings, the schedule and details of which are also posted on the State
Fire Marshall’s website. The agency is audited periodically and is not aware of any findings for this Division related
to the statute or rules.



https://www2.illinois.gov/sites/sfm/SFMDocuments/Documents/IncidentReportingForm.pdf
https://www2.illinois.gov/sites/sfm/SFMDocuments/Documents/ComplaintFormForWeb11-6-08.pdf

Criteria (8) “The efficiency with which formal public complaints filed with the regulatory agency or under the
program concerning persons subject to regulation have been processed to completion, by the executive director
of the regulatory agencies or programs, by the Attorney General and by any other applicable department of the
State government.”

The Elevator Safety Act allows anyone to report alleged violations of the Act and request investigation by the
agency. The agency has a complaint form for this purpose. Complaints may be submitted in writing (mail, fax, or
email) or may also come in by phone. Complaints are addressed individually, typically beginning on the next
business day following the receipt of complaint. The agency will assess whether an investigation is warranted.
Although many investigations are complete within 30 days, some involving more complex complaints or serious
injuries may take significantly longer. After the investigation is complete, the agency will either close the
investigation with no further action, have licensees correct practices/behaviors, or pursue disciplinary action. The
electronic complaint form may be found here:
https://www?2.illinois.gov/sites/sfm/SFMDocuments/Documents/ComplaintFormForWeb11-6-08.pdf

Criteria (9) “The extent to which changes are necessary in the enabling laws of the agency or program to
adequately comply with the factors listed in this section.”

The OSFM is currently conducting a review the Act to identify any changes necessary.
Conclusion:

GOMB, based on the information provided by the OSFM, recommends this Act be extended. The Elevator Safety
and Regulation Act (225 ILCS 312) provides for the safety of both industry and the public by adopting specific codes
containing safety and technical standards and by ensuring licensed employees are aware of and following relevant
codes. Failing to renew the Elevator Safety and Regulation Act (225 ILCS 312) would subject both those who work
on conveyances and the public to potentially dangerous conditions and likely increase the incidence of serious
injuries and death due to conveyances. The agency is currently reviewing the Act for any changes necessary to
better fit the purpose of safety.



https://www2.illinois.gov/sites/sfm/SFMDocuments/Documents/ComplaintFormForWeb11-6-08.pdf

