Board of Directors Steven H. Abbey

David A. Abel Catherine M. Adduci Allan Ambrose*

A.G. Anglum* Adrienne Archia Murray E. Ascher* Alicia Berg

Brian A. Bernardoni Roger Bickel

J.D. Bindenagel Douglas H. Cameron

Whitney Carlisle

Robert J. Christie

Jerry Cizek III

Nancy J. Clawson

Lew Collens* Elizabeth G. Coolidge

Mary Culler

Ronald S. Cope

Omar Daghestani Kevork M. Derderian 🌣

Jon B. DeVries Thomas H. Donohoe

Julian C. D'Esposito

Martin L. Eisenberg Jeff Emme Brian D. Fabes

Timothy J. Faerber Timothy Fair

Stephen B. Friedman Charles R. Gardner*

Carol W. Garnant 🌣 Sarah Garvey*

Anthony Gedeller

Ronald J. Gidwitz Peter G. Glick

Judith A. Gold* Andrew F. Gottschalk* Patrick J. Hagan* Philip Hale

M. Hill Hammock* Albert C. Hanna

David Hickerson

Lori Igleski Bennett Johnson III

Blake Johnson James H. Kane

William Ketchum Jim Kranjc* Betsy LaVelle Stephen Legatzke

Michael A. Lovett William Mack*

Timothy E. Moran

Monica M. Mueller Michael E. Murphy 🌣

Bert Nuehring* Michael F. O'Brien

Holly O'Connor Gregory O'Leary Sarah Pang

Robert Pasin Dorice Pepin

Donovan Pepper Moira Pollard

Bruce V. Rauner Judith Rice

Alexander I. Rorke Scott Saef 🌣 Kevin Scanlan John C. Sciaccotta Patrick Sheahan

James E. Spiotto*

Caryn Stancik Barbara Stewart 🌣 Eugene S. Sunshine Theodore M. Swain* Kent A. Swanson* Courtney A. Thompson

Allen Truesdell Thomas C. Vanden Berk

Robert S. Vihon* Daniel Wagner

Sue E. Wallace* John F. Ward John L. Ward Jeffrey D. Warner Andrew L. Weil Jerrold Wolf Corinne Wood Philip Zinn

Glenn Mazade Thomas McNulty

Karen Kane

Patricia M. Holden Margaret Houlihan Smith

Timothy L. Christen

Richard A. Ciccarone*

Victor Chang

Institute for Illinois' Fiscal Sustainability at the Civic Federation

177 North State Street, Suite 400, Chicago, IL 60601 • 312.201.9066 fax 312.201.9041 • civicfed.org

September 7, 2012

The Honorable Pat J. Quinn Governor, State of Illinois 100 W. Randolph Street Suite 16-100 Chicago, IL 60601

Dear Governor Quinn:

The Civic Federation supports the Budgeting for Results Commission and its efforts to develop new ways for State government to more effectively manage its resources.

The goal of Budgeting for Results is to initiate a budget process that assesses available revenues, prioritizes the desired results of government spending, decides which activities can best achieve these results and then allocates available dollars to the most significant programs and activities. The Federation was encouraged by the extensive list of budget reform recommendations in the Commission's first annual report published last year and looks forward to the State pursuing and building on those goals.

Now more than ever it is important that the State establish ongoing performance measures to judge the effectiveness of programs and determine objectively which activities are working well and which are not successful. Establishing such metrics through the Budgeting for Results process can benefit both government officials and service providers. Optimally, providers will receive the funding they deserve for successful programs and officials will be better able to resist political pressure to support programs that are not working.

Transforming the State's budgeting process is a difficult task that will take years to complete. It requires a sustained effort, particularly by the executive branch of State government, whose staff must consistently produce and support key performance measures. The Civic Federation applauds the Governor's Office and the General Assembly – especially the leadership of Sen. Dan Kotowski – for continuing to pursue this important budget reform.

Budgeting for Results is not a panacea for the State's financial problems. Painful choices will remain about the best use of the State's available resources. However, we believe that an ongoing commitment to Budgeting for Results will provide elected officials with the proper framework to best serve the residents of Illinois.

Sincerely,

Zamence J. Mont

Laurence Msall President The Civic Federation



Officers

Thomas Livingston Chairman Mark Davis Vice Chairman Susan McKeever Vice Chairman Eileen Mitchell Vice Chairman Joseph B. Starshak Treasurer Laurence J. Msall President *Executive Committee © Past Chairmen's Council